Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Annual Top Ten Architectural Wonders of Southern Illinois – Johnson County Courthouse gets top spot on list

JC CourthouseThe Johnson County Courthouse in Vienna has been named the top architectural wonder of Southern Illinois by a regional architecture firm.

Baysinger Architects of Marion assembled this year’s top-ten architectural wonders of Southern Illinois that ranked the courthouse at number one.

Completed in 1871, the Italianate Johnson County Courthouse was designed by architect Niles Llewelly Wickwine. It features narrow arched windows and an octagonal cupola with clocks that face every side of the building.

The courthouse is the oldest continuously operated courthouse in Illinois. It was added to the National Registry of History Places on Sept. 9, 2011.

The list of top ten architectural wonders of Southern Illinois covers many corners of the region, with locations dating back to the early 1800s. Many of the buildings are public landmarks on the National Register of Historic Places.

“This list gives us the opportunity to bring attention to many interesting and sometimes forgotten structures in our region, they are a fantastic reflection of our regional history as well as the history of architecture and it’s role in Southern Illinois,” said Michael Baysinger, managing member of Baysinger Architects.

Top Ten Architectural Wonders of Southern Illinois:


1.   Johnson County Courthouse, Vienna – 1871

2.   Thebes Courthouse, Thebes – 1848

3.   Cloud State Bank, McLeansboro – 1882

4.   Magnolia Manor, Cairo – 1869

5.   Shawneetown Bank, Old Shawneetown – 1841

6.   Altgeld Hall, Carbondale – 1896

7.   Goddard Chapel, Marion – 1918

8.   Shiloh College School Building, Shiloh – 1881

9.   Bald Knob Cross, Alto Pass – 1963

10. Gilbert Home, Golconda – 1896

Check Also

Grand Chain Halloween Carnival set for Oct. 27

The Grand Chain Library is planning the Annual Grand Chain Halloween Carnival on Sat., Octt. …