Wednesday, October 28, 2020

VHS Beta Club celebrates achievements

Beta-New-inductees2Submitted by Kirsten Trambley

The Vienna High School Beta Club held their Beta Performances, Awards and Induction Night on Saturday, March 29, at 6 p.m. in the gym. The evening was held to celebrate inducting new members and the successes of members at this year’s Ill. Senior Beta Club Convention.

The club started the event with Meighan Smith, 2014-2015 Ill. Senior Beta Club president, delivering her speech. The students in her skit performed with Smith’s candidacy theme, “Head Out on the Beta Highway with Meighan Smith.” The skit includes the songs, “Born to be Wild” and “The Fox.”

After taking a short break for costume changes, this year’s group talent entry, Another Day, Another Life, performed. The performance is under seven minutes and is military-themed. The students began working on the entry in September, and their talent and dedication proved why they won first place at state convention and will compete at the upcoming national convention in June.

Then, the awards ceremony was held to honor the accomplishments of the Betas who won 23 awards at state convention on March 10-11.

The four seniors who are the 2013-2014 club officers received medallions. The officers are president Lucas Wright, vice president Trenton Lowery, secretary Desiree Walter and treasurer Andrea Botello.

Beta members of the 12th grade class who have been National Senior Beta Club members during their four years of high school were recognized. They are Allison Browning, Courtney Cavitt, Shane Cowsert, Alyssa Ferguson, Kathryn Jones, Trenton Lowery, Ashton Loyd, Assiah Mercer, Nick Myers, Jami Shipley, Bryce Shoemaker, Justin Tanner, Desiree Walter and Lucas Wright.

“Being a member of Beta Club for four years has been an outstanding experience, and I have enjoyed every minute of it!” Lowery said.

VHS Beta Club members are required to perform 20 hours of community service to attend state convention or 10 hours to maintain club membership. For the second consecutive year, members who have earned more than 25 service hours were commended for their outstanding service to the community. These students are Ryan Bradley, Miranda Brookshier, Allison Browning, Mikalah Greer, Makayla Holder, Megan McCuan, Courtney Sanders, Caleb Sullivan and Matthew Williams.

The induction ceremony was conducted by the four officers. The club inducted students based on their grade point average of 4.5 / 5.0 or above and the fulfillment of community service hours. The new inductees are Max Allbritten, Adrienne Bullock, Sydney Charles, Alena Cowsert, Courtney Craig, Remington Fisher, Wyatt Graves, Makayla Holder, Hope Hutchison, Hannah Loyd, Tia McLaughlin, Abigail Montgomery, Alexandra Pratis, Lakin Reed, Rian Shaneyfelt, Fayth Smith, McKenzie Smith, Cassidy Stout, Caleb Sullivan, JT Waters and Chloe Wright.

The night concluded with refreshments and pictures.

Check Also

S7HD answers frequently-asked-questions about COVID-19

Southern Seven Health Department staff have worked to establish clear, simple, and consistent answers to …