Friday, May 24, 2019

Mears to serve as new chairman of county commissioners

The Johnson County commissioners met for a regularly scheduled meeting Monday afternoon, which was designated as an organizational meeting in which appointments to various boards were made as well as the election of a new chairman.

Commissioner Jeff Mears, now in his fourth year sitting on the board, was elected as the new Johnson County commissioners’ chairman with commissioner Phil Stewart selected as vice chairman.

Mears said that although “transparency” is thrown around a lot in politics, he is committed to keeping open, honest and transparent government in Johnson County.

“I know you hear that word a lot in politics; just be honest and use common sense,” said Mears of his intent as chairman.

Mears also welcomed incoming commissioner Ernie Henshaw to the board.  “Very easy and good to work with,” Mears said of Henshaw. “I’ve learned a lot from him and I plan to learn a lot more from him in these next two years.”

The meeting was the first for newly elected county officials as incoming state’s attorney Tambra Cain and incoming circuit clerk Ryan O’Neal joined the board for a short list of new business Monday.

The commissioners took no action on the Southern 14 Workforce Designee leaving recently appointed Ron Duncan in place. The commissioners also approved the appointments of Don Cook to Bay Creek board; Henshaw to sit on the planning commission board; Stewart to sit on the Shawnee Development Council board; and Mears to sit on the intermediary relending program board.

The previously approved budget was passed out in its finalized form as levies for 2013 were discussed but no action was taken. A discussion over approved pay for a janitorial position was discussed and both highway and county bills were approved in the amounts of $4,420.30 and $62,417.33 respectively.

The next county commissioners’ meeting is scheduled for Dec. 17 to begin at 3:30 p.m.

Check Also

County officials take oath at Swearing-In Ceremony

Newly elected county officials took oath Monday morning, Dec. 3, at the Swearing-In Ceremony at …